Share and Don’t Share – Monday 5/13/13

Today’s Topic: Often our health care team only sees us for about 15 minutes several times a year, and they might not have a sense of what our lives are really like. Today, let’s pretend our medical team is reading our blogs. What do you wish they could see about your and/or your loved one’s daily life with diabetes? On the other hand, what do you hope they don’t see?  (Thanks to Melissa Lee of Sweetly Voiced for this topic suggestion.)

Dear Dr. Amess,
I just met you last week, and you’re the fourth Endocrinologist that I have been to. My first Endo, basically started me out with insulin, but basically did what I told him. When I wanted to go on MDI from Regular/N, he said “okay”. When I wanted to get a pump, he said “okay”. He was so used to older Type2 patients that he really didn’t know how to deal with me. My second one dismissed me with “You need to exercise, then you won’t be so insulin resistant”. One visit with her, and I was D-U-N DONE! My third Endo only knew about putting T2’s on insulin and I had to defer to my pump rep and my CDE.

So far, you have had the slam, bam technology thing figured out. You took readings from my pump not from my meter. You knew about “Others”. You asked me what I wanted, explained what you thought should happen, and we both agreed on common goals. So far, you’re an A+!  I was so happy to hear from you that you wanted to look me up on the Internet after our discussion to see what I had to say. You think my diabetes is interesting, you want to know more how to help me as there isn’t much information on “others”. I LOVE THIS!

I hope that you don’t look into how often I buy pump supplies. I wasn’t truthful how long I let sets last. I push them as far as I can to save money. I’m a reservoir cheater. When next February comes around and I don’t have to pay for them again, I’ll be a good girl, I PROMISE.

So I hope you and I can keep this up. I need someone like you in my life!

Your new D-patient,

landileigh

2 responses to “Share and Don’t Share – Monday 5/13/13

  1. Yup, sounds like you found a good one! I especially like that you have common goals.

  2. It’s like Goldilocks and the 4 endos. Hope this one is “just right!”

Leave a Reply

