Forgotten…. AGAIN!

After reading all of the debacle regarding the online petition that advocates for changing the names of type 1 and type 2 diabetes, I had to put in my input. See, I’m not a T1, or a T2, nor did I get diabetes because I was pregnant. I am the forgotten. The unknown. The WTF are you talking about? SAY WHAT?!? I am an “Other”.

As Wikipedia states it:

OTHER TYPES

There are several rare causes of diabetes mellitus that do not fit into type 1, type 2, or gestational diabetes; attempts to classify them remain controversial. Some cases of diabetes are caused by the body’s tissue receptors not responding to insulin (even when insulin levels are normal, which is what separates it from type 2 diabetes); this form is very uncommon. Genetic mutations (autosomal or mitochondrial) can lead to defects in beta cell function. Abnormal insulin action may also have been genetically determined in some cases. Any disease that causes extensive damage to the pancreas may lead to diabetes (for example, chronic pancreatitis and cystic fibrosis). Diseases associated with excessive secretion of insulin-antagonistic hormones can cause diabetes (which is typically resolved once the hormone excess is removed). Many drugs impair insulin secretion and some toxins damage pancreatic beta cells. The ICD-10 (1992) diagnostic entity, malnutrition-related diabetes mellitus (MRDM or MMDM, ICD-10 code E12), was deprecated by the World Health Organization when the current taxonomy was introduced in 1999.[3]

What I find interesting about all of this talk is that no matter whether the names of Type 1 and Type 2 change or stay the same. I will still be an “Other”. The few of us that have this type of diabetes are very few and far between. I have yet to meet another “Other” personally. I have “met” a couple of them through the DOC (chat rooms/message boards) but not in real life. If you were lucky enough to meet me at a DOC meetup, you probably met the only “Other” you’ll ever meet. Funny how this type of diabetes always has quotation marks associated with it. Like a Roger Maris asterisk.

Although we are a type of diabetes recognized by the World Health Organization and most endocrinologists know of it. How educated is the public? Should I start my own petition so that I am recognized and people know exactly how I got my diabetes? I guess I would call it the DCPPTGAPID Diabetes (For “Damn C-Peptide Producing Pancreas That Gets Acute Pancreatitis and is Insulin Dependent” Diabetes.)

3 responses to “Forgotten…. AGAIN!

  1. You’re right that I’ve never (to my knowledge) met an “other” in person, unless you count the several LADA folks I’ve met. I have known several through forums, all (I think) going through the process of trying (to that point unsuccessfully) to get a diagnosis and a treatment plan that really helped them. Frustrating! And, I can see how not having a convenient ‘tag’ to put on your condition is frustrating as well.

    Thank you for your comment on my post re: the naming issue. I appreciate it.

  2. I like the “others!” And it’s even nicer that I got to meet you – for real!

  3. I am one of the “others”. I know many people with diabetes but I don’t know any “others”. I have what the docs call Secondary Diabetes, I was diagnosed in late Oct 2010. I have been getting Acute Pancreatitis episodes since March 2006., Repeated episodes of acute pancreatitis became chronic pancreatitis in 2009, which led to the diabetes. Even the docs seem to have trouble treating paitents like me. Or perhaps I’ve just not met the right docs I don’t know. But I do know its frusterating to me because the 2 conditions I have are difficult to treat together.

Leave a Reply

