My Thoughts on WDD 2008

Today is a celebration for all of my D-friends. The birthday of the man (Sir Frederick Banting of Canada) who discovered the properties of insulin. A day held in reverencance by the United Nations. To bring about Diabetes Awareness of the disease that has affected millions.

Problem is this… all i can think about today is if awareness brings about a cure for the Type 1’s and Type 2’s, will I be the only one left with diabetes after all my friends are cured? My diabetes cannot be cured. Some day I hope to have a double transplant (kidney/pancreas). It is the only way I would no longer have diabetes.

The first successful pancreas transplant happened in 1966 by Richard Lillehei and William Kelly in Minnesota. The prognosis after pancreas transplantation is very good. Over the recent years, long-term success has improved and risks have decreased. One year after transplantation more than 95% of all patients are still alive and 80-85% of all pancreases are still functional. After transplantation patients need lifelong immunosuppression. Immunosuppression increases the risk for a number of different kinds of infection and cancer. This scares me also. But the chance for a longer life, is too great to pass up. 

Please have everyone you know sign their organ donation cards. Some day, they may save a dear friend or family member’s life. And donate for a cure for Diabetes to your favorite Diabetes Foundation, because I want us ALL to have long happy lives.

5 responses to “My Thoughts on WDD 2008

  1. Great post, Landi! Happy WDD!!!

  2. Amen, Sister!
    Happy WDD to you.

  3. Happy World Diabetes Day!

    I hope I can still donate at least some of my organs when I die – despite the big D.

  4. You are awesome and this is an important message. Thank you for this post.

  5. Landileigh, belated happy WDD to you.

    At the DRI meeting in New York last month they described a whole lot of interesting research going on in pancreatic research. I hope they continue working on this until there’s a viable option for those of us who need it.

    Until that meeting I didn’t realize how fragile islet cells were, and how much nutrition they needed. Amazing little things!

Leave a Reply

