Bad News and Good News – 02/04/08

day91.jpg

i had my blood work done yesterday for my two-months recheck with endo.  this time, only 2 tubes.bad news first:

my GFR (glomerular filtration rate) was 31. in July when i was diagnosed it was 35, then 33 in late november, and now 31. I am two points away from Stage 4 CKD (Chronic Kidney Disease). I don’t know how to stop that number from dropping so fast.From the National Kidney Foundation:1) Why glomerular filtration rate (GFR) as a measurement of kidney function?

GFR is usually accepted as the best overall index of kidney function in health and disease. Normal GFR varies according to age, sex, and body size; in young adults it is approximately 120-130ml/min/1.73 m2 and declines with age. A decrease in GFR precedes the onset of kidney failure; therefore a persistently reduced GFR is a specific indication of CKD. Below 60 ml/min/1.73 m2, the prevalence of complications of CKD increases, as does the risk of cardiovascular disease.

Table 3: Stages of chronic kidney disease and clinical action plans
Stage Description GFR Clinical Action Plan
1 Kidney damage with normal or increase GFR ≥90 Diagnosis and treatment, slow progression, CVD risk reduction
2 Kidney damage with mild decrease GFR 60-89 Estimating progression
3 Moderate decrease GFR 30-59 Evaluating and treating complications
4 Severe increase GFR 15-29 Preperation for kidney replacement therapy
5 Kidney Failure <15 Kidney replacement therapy (if uremia present and patient desirable)


National Kidney Foundation. KDOQI Clinical Practice Guidelines for Chronic Kidney Disease: Evaluation, Classification and Stratification
now for the good news:
my A1C was 6.1! basically staying the same, even with the change from NovolinN/NovolinR to Lantus/Novolog.

 


 

5 responses to “Bad News and Good News – 02/04/08

  1. I’m sorry about your bad news.
    I like your good news.

  2. Landileigh,
    Sorry to hear the bad news. But hang in there.

    Your good news is fantastic!

  3. 6.1 A1C is awesome. I’ve never had one that low before that I recall. I’m proud of you for doing everything right, and so sorry that your kidney’s don’t see it that way.

    I’m gonna have to beat them up. Wait, that probably will make things worse!

  4. Nice job on the A1C!
    Here’s hoping that your kidneys will jump on board!

  5. FOLLOW-UP:
    My endocrinologist was very happy with my A1c. He stated that my blood pressure is up, this is why my kidneys are working a bit harder. He switched out my Verapamil for a new medicine, this will allow one of my BP meds to be upped if needed. I have been on Verapamil for so long, he thinks it is not doing what it should be doing. So I have to go in for a BP check in 2 weeks, and hopefully we’ll be able to get that down and then stabilize the kidneys.

Leave a Reply

